Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

December 15th, 2015 09:00

Poweredge 6850 Upgrade from 2 to 4 processors: FAIL

Hello, please I need your help. I'm new to this.

Recently I received a Dell Power Edge 6850, for purposes of running an application on Windows Server 2008 R2, also I'm a rookie on this server thing, I just have experience running smaller servers for small companies. It came with 2 processors Xeon 7020.

Recently I bought 2 more processors with the exact model and numbers that are on the processors plate, I bought them looking for the best performance the server can deliver. But when I turned on the Server nothing happens, you just can hear the fans running at low speed, but doesn't boot up.

I'm an amateur and I spent a lot of money on the upgrade and making this thing running, maybe I need something else to make the four processors configuration running, but I don't know.
HELP :(

• 

8.4K Posts

December 15th, 2015 11:00

Juankvcsc,

Can you confirm a few things for us?

First off is if the server was functional with the original 2 processors, but is then not functioning with CPU 3 and 4 installed?
If the original processors do work, then try removing them and placing the new processors in CPU 1 and 2. Does the server start? 

Lastly, are you seeing any errors being displayed, or amber lights on the server, when you try to power it on?

Let us know.

9 Posts

December 16th, 2015 08:00

Thank you for your help my friend, as soon as I test I let you know, I'll try that. 

9 Posts

December 16th, 2015 10:00

Dell-Chris

I had placed the new processors in the old one's positions (first two left positions), same as you asked, and they worked, but if I install ALL THE PROCESSORS again, it doesn't boot up (the old ones on the 2 last right positions).

Also I checked the specs of the CPUs, and seems that they are all the exact same model. This first photo is from the old ones, both have the same specs.