Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

February 21st, 2015 05:00

USB 3.0 PCI-e card for PE T610

Hello there!

I've recently acquired a PE T610 tower, and I'm looking to adding USB 3.0 to it. I've looked at a couple of PCI-e cards, but they seem to recommend either a 4-pin Molex or SATA power connector.

Is there something I can do to provide either one of those? I've heard about cables available for other server models to provide a 4-pin Molex connector.

On a side note, are there any recommended cards for use for the T610? I'm looking for one that preferably has two ports or above and also Linux support.

Thanks!

February 21st, 2015 06:00

I usually connect to the power connector that is intended to supply the dvd drive (I think the motherboard may have two connectors ........)

I have no experience of these systems but

http://www.newgeardeals.com/Dell_PowerEdge_T610_Optical_Drive_GW834_CN_0GW83_p/gw834.htm

is consistent with the sort of cable you need. Do some googling to confirm the correct cable and go to ebay.

You can use a converter to convert to molex

http://www.netstoredirect.com/startech-com-power-cables/279628-startechcom-12in-sata-to-molex-lp4-power-cable-adapter-fm-0065030854511.html?gclid=CjwKEAiA9qCnBRCb7ZDhvaHSyicSJABGFFHtzBDB5XLRtJAEjPtTA_I_SwAk6RPDXUYZ5cesgYBlAhoCli7w_wcB

In regard to Linux I would choose an oldish branded card. However Linux forums are your best bet. 

74 Posts

March 5th, 2015 02:00

Similar issue here.

BUT

Wouldnt this work? http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-SATPCIEX8ADP-6-Inch-Express-Adapter/dp/B007Y8FSMQ The connector seems to be the exact same on ítem 4 here http://www.dell.com/support/manuals/us/en/19/Topic/poweredge-r730/R730_R730xd_Publication-v1/en-us/GUID-F9627386-54DD-4436-AAC6-9DBF28DC52B7 in the manual. It should be able to convert it to a standard SATA power connector which I need for a USB 3.0 PCI-E card.

74 Posts

March 5th, 2015 02:00