Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 14th, 2017 17:00

R410 Cannot find HDD during windows server 8/12 or 16 installation

Hello everybody,

I'm a total newbie when it comes to server and the dell r410 is my first server that i just bought a few days ago.

I'm planning to install windows server 2008/12 or 16. It took me while to know how to boot from usb. 

However when i get to the choosing hard drive to install windows, it does not recognize my hdd. 

I'm using seagate barracuda 3TB. The board does recognize my hdd as when i unplug the hdd it shows error.

So i was reading on the forum that i need to install the driver for the raid card. My service tag is so i figure my card is 342-0767: SAD 6iR SAD internal RAID. I only have 1 3TB 3.5 HDD

Then i was trying to download driver for it. However the windows does not accept the driver i downloaded from dell. I try to google and download a few more driver for it and try to install but still no luck (please see picture). I have also try to turn off sata controller, ata mode, AHCI or RAID, none worked. 

Please advice.

7 Technologist

• 

16.3K Posts

July 15th, 2017 23:00

Servers 2008R2, 2012, 2012R2, and 2016 have the SAS drivers built into the OS media, so there is no reason to load them separately (and also why there are no SAS 6 drivers on the support site for those OS's). I would highly suggest using a modern OS (not 2008).

The most likely reason it is not working, is because of the error shown on the controller, and the mostly likely reason for the error is that you are using a desktop drive, which has no place in a server.

One other thing you could look at is updating the firmware. It's possible that updating the firmware may expand its compatibility, but there would be no guarantee with that drive.

7 Technologist

• 

16.3K Posts

July 16th, 2017 00:00