Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

February 5th, 2013 04:00

What is DELL OS install conception?

Hi,

I came from an IBM world where I already know server conceptions, OS install rituals, I am new in DELL servers.

Please let me know what is the conecptional idea at DELL for installing OS on servers? Do we have preinstallation kits, Windows deployment tools, what are the names of these packages and what are the latest versions of these packages?

At IBM we have UpdateXpress package for fimrware and driver upgrades, is it called "OpenManage Server Update Utility" here?
At IBM we used ServerGuide package to deploy Windows Server OS, what do we use for deploymet here at DELL?

I have a PowerEdge T310 server and I'd like to install Windows 2008 R2 on it, as DELL imagined it. Where should I start? Is there a step by step guide to download deployment tools and install OS?

I am a bit confused, what are these DELL packages:
"Dell Systems Management Tools and Documentation"
"Dell Windows OS install support pack"
"Dell Systems Build and Update Utility"
"OpenManage Server Update Utility"

7 Technologist

• 

16.3K Posts

February 5th, 2013 08:00

SMTD/SBUU and SUU are "pretty" universal.  The latest versions (7.2 is the latest) will pretty much work on any server model since 2006 (9th generation through 12).  The downloads are quite large, and this is why.  6.5 should work ok, but 7.2 will have the latest drivers for your devices.

For what it's worth, I seldom use the installation utility and install directly from the OS media.

Hint:  Never use Dell's "search" ... it's pretty useless.