Holzriders
1 Copper

SCV3020 data progression & diskpools

Hi,

Got a brand new SCV3020 with 7 SSDs and 15 SAS Disks.

In order to make auto-tiering work, i will have to create one single Disk-pool which contains all disks in the SAN.
Set up the RAID levels according to the propositions the system gives me.
Right?

Also, in case i want to expand diskspace, i only have to add another disk (of either same SAS type or same flash type) and the system will automatically add it to the pool? I'm wondering how this process will effect the LUNs (or Sub-LUNs). Does my Hypervisor simple get bigger LUNs automatically or do i have to create another LUN?

Thank in advance. And sorry, i suppose this is a complete beginner question
best regards,

0 Kudos
5 Replies

Re: SCV3020 data progression & diskpools

Hello Holzriders,

Here is the link to the SC Administrator guide, if you look on page 49 it explains about how data progression works.  https://topics-cdn.dell.com/pdf/dell-storage-manager_administrator-guide3_en-us.pdf

Since you have 2 types of hdd’s in your SCv3020 you will want to use tier storage.  You can create one storage type for all or you can have 2 storage types.  You can find this information on page 296 of the same guide.   

Please let us know if you have any other questions.

DELL-Sam L
Dell | Social Outreach Services - Enterprise
Download the Dell Quick Resource Locator app today to access PowerEdge support content on your mobile device! (iOS, Android, Windows)

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Origin3k
3 Silver

1. Yes.