Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

June 20th, 2013 10:00

1815dn Scanner lock switch is STUCK

I work as an internal support student for my coop placement. We have a dell 1815 all-in-one printer, and all be it old, it still works for exactly what the office needs

Somehow in the morning, one of the employees accidentally locked the scanner. Its obvious that the lock switch is on the roof of the output tray. We even see the switch status indicator on the inside of the glass. But for some reason, it is STUCK. We have tried pulling it, pushing it, but we cannot for the life of us figure out why it wont budge. There seems to be a small locking feature beside the indicator on the inside of the glass, but we cannot get in to move the switch manually.

We have tried gently and forcefully to move the lock switch, but it will NOT budge no matter how hard we push/pull 

Has anyone solved this issue before? Or rather, does anyone know how to get inside the glass of the scanner? We understand that this printer is old, and no longer covered by any sort of warranty.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

11 Posts

June 25th, 2013 11:00

We had a representative from HP look at our printer when they were in servicing our other hardware. You failed to make it known that all switches have a small latch on the interior. All you have to do is use a small screwdriver and pull it down before attempting to pull it back into place...thats it.

Im sure glad i didnt follow your "advice" in disassembling our entire printer for something so simple. Thanks for the delayed support, we will be continuing our business relationship with other companies that have the ability to support both their own products better then "here is a service manual, good luck"

953 Posts

June 21st, 2013 06:00

Hi Sniderman,