Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

December 10th, 2010 15:00

streaks in 962 printer, Dells says replace?

An elderly friend has a 962 printer that recently has developed two issues. Basically, the black text is spotty. When I run the utility to clean the heads, the printed page (horizontal bands of color), looks normal except the black bands look thin, like a very tall skinny bar code on its side with mostly white space, plus a faint vertical black streak about 2" from the left edge. When I called Dell they said it was not an ink problem (there is half a tank of black ink left), but rather an old printer with a roller problem and would cost more to fix than replace. I have no experience with Dell printers (I've had three desktops) so I thought I would ask for some other opinions before I tell her to replace the printer.

Thank you,

Andy

5 Posts

December 10th, 2010 20:00

thanks for the suggestions, but there is no error message, just the streak and blank areas I mentioned. I will find out if she's using refilled cartridges, that's a good point, although the  Dell rep insisted it wasn't an ink issue.

Andy

9 Legend

• 

30.3K Posts

December 10th, 2010 20:00

Andy,

I would check to see if the printer has Dell Series 5 ink cartridges installed. Refilled is not really recommended and some generics work and some don't. If the printer is near an airy location, like near a door or heater/air vent, the cartridges can get dried out and cause problems.

Try copying a document under the glass. B&W and color, what happens?

Unplug the printer from the wall. Noe remove the power brick from the printer for 60 seconds. This will reset any error message the printer is getting. Plug the printer back in.

Turn on the printer. Open up the printer and take out the black cartridge and reseat it. Do the same for the color cartridge. Now close the printer and it will print an alignment page. Any error messages?