caroline-hunter.JPG.jpgName        Caroline Hunter

Title          Instructional Designer at EMC

Education B.A. in Philosophy/English, currently pursuing MBA

Area of Expertise Open source software, collaborative learning systems

Certifications

• Information and Storage Management v2 Associate
  • Cloud Infrastructure and Services Associate

ECN profile  carolineh

Can you briefly describe your background, for example, how did you first become interested in IT?

I have always had a detail-oriented personality, though never expected to work in the technology industry. I always liked computers, though - some of my favorite games growing up were Myst, Minesweeper, and Mavis Beacon Teaches Typing. When I graduated from Simmons College, my strongest skills were in writing, and I expected to become a magazine writer. Instead I ended up at TechTarget, which is a great source of technical news and analysis for business IT buyers. Being a philosophy major, I like paradox, so enjoyed working with TechTarget as the editor of a web site covering how open source technologies are used in the business world. I got to attend some fun conferences like RedHat and interview some inspiring people.

Tell us a little bit about your role.

I am an Instructional Designer for the Storage Area Networks team in Education Services. I have been reviewing courses covering how to plan, build, and support a variety of network types, and also VPLEX, PowerPath, and RecoverPoint courses. With my interest in systems, the SAN team is a good fit for my learning interests – how do businesses use technology to connect their operations across distance in ways that are fast, secure, and reliable? As an instructional designer, I am interested in the people who build these networks for businesses. Especially with EMC’s Third Platform strategy, there is a lot to think about, and I’m excited about the role that Education Services can play in supporting that strategy.

What most interests you about your work?