Highlighted
kashan1
6 Indium

Facing problem while changing the property of an instance of class ICS_Notification

Hi All,

I am new to smarts.What i am trying to do is to modify a property of Instance of Class called  ICS_Notification by using Domain Manager Control Program command 'Put'.I am trying this in my local system.

The problem i am facing is that i am able to change the value of certain properties like EventText while i am unable to do the same for certain other properties like ShouldClear or ShouldClearAt.

When i try to modify the preset value for the above property using the command "dmctl -s OIServer put ICS_Notification::NewObj_ICS::ShouldAutoClear TRUE" I get the following error:-

CI-E-EGENERIC-At l:/FOUNDATION-7.2.0.X/18/smarts/repos/mr/prop.c:260  put:
    Attempted to call access method which is not available for given attribute
MR-UNAVAILABLE_ACCESS_METHOD-Attempted to call access method which is not
    available for given attribute

Why i am not able to change the above property? Is there any way i can change the same?

Thanks and Regards,

Kashan

0 Kudos
3 Replies
popeye2
6 Indium

Re: Facing problem while changing the property of an instance of class ICS_Notification

Hello Kashan,

It is not possible to modify the  ShouldAutoArchivedirectly because this would interfere with notification processing and potentially cause an inconsistent SAM or OI topology/repository.

Attributes such as these are mnaged and relied upon by internal processes and methods.  So they are implemented as private class members which can only be modified by methods (functions) of that class.  So, put cannot be used to manipulate such an attribute.

In the case of ICS_Notification objects, there are no methods which deal with archiving functionality (see the output of dmctl getOperations on ICS_Notifications).  So, the ShouldAutoArchive is not able to be modified externally by any means, since it would be only private (internal) methods which modify its value.