Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 29th, 2007 07:00

SNMP Alerts

HI All,
I am a newbie at SMARTS, we just got this installed and discovered few devices. we are forwarding SNMP traps from these devices to SMARTS, but i dont see that on the Global Console.
following daemons/services are running
RUNNING ic-icoi-server
RUNNING ic-trapd-receiver

Am i missing anything... i am coming from IBM Netview field, where if you have MIBS loaded you will see alerts...

any help is appreciated.

Thanks
Ashish Vashisht

1 Message

September 4th, 2007 13:00

As far as I know there is configuration file which you need to update for the required traps on notification log.

10 Posts

September 10th, 2007 00:00

Gday Ashish,

Have a look in the /SAM/smarts/local/conf/icoi/trap_mgr.conf file. This is where you would configure all the MIB translations. Right down the bottom of the file there should be a section something like:

#######################################################################
#
# Catch All trap - This should only be used during diagnostic trap
# investigations. Once complete, the entry should then be
# disabled (commented out).
#
BEGIN_TRAP * * *
ClassName: SNMPTrapCatchAll
InstanceName: $SYS$ $E$ $N$ $S$
EventName: Catch all
Severity: 3
EventText: $V*$ test event trap...catch all clause
Expiration: 600
State: NOTIFY
UserDefined1: $V*$
LogFile: catchall-list.log
END_TRAP

Just make sure that the lines from BEGIN_TRAP to END_TRAP are not commented out and restart the ic-trapd-receiver and you should start seeing traps in the Console.

If it is working you can go through and start defining the traps per the example in that file and then re-comment out the CatchAll section so you only receive exactly the traps you want.

Good Luck.

Dan.

7 Posts

October 11th, 2007 05:00