Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

December 16th, 2012 10:00

Dell Sputnik

I have been using Dell XPS 13 for the last 3 months.  I have bought Dell XPS 13 with windows edition and did clean install of Ubuntu 12.10.  I have added the PPA manually.

Issues that I am facing:

1.) Fully charged battery lasts only for 3 hours. ( Bluetooth Disabled, WIFI Enabled).  Many them has posted that the battery life is quite impressive.

2.) In Last 3 months Laptop got shutdown abruptly twice.  This happens only when cooling Fan makes more noise and it shutdown abruptly  after sometime

3.) I couldn't hibernate my PC.  Hibernate button is disabled.

I need to verify the PPA that I have added manually is correct r not. Please advice on this.

11 Posts

December 18th, 2012 02:00

Hi Brag,

I don't know if it is useful for you, but Twirrim tweetted this twitter.com/.../280355800717856768

Linking help.ubuntu.com/.../ReducedPower

7 hours of battery life is awesome...

Tell us if it works.

April 26th, 2013 11:00

I am using a Dell XPS 13 with Dell's distro of Ubuntu 12.04 LTS.  (I'm actually afraid to upgrade).

My problem is with the Bluetooth mice not reconnecting once you wake up from hibernation.  Is anyone else having this problem?  Does Dell know that it is a problem?

April 27th, 2013 09:00

This forum might better be realized as a Google+ community dedicated to Linux on ultrabooks in general.  It does not seem like Dell intends to provide any fixes for problems with Ubuntu on the XPS 13.  It seems they are just saying "discuss among yourselfs and figure it out".

7 Technologist

• 

538 Posts

April 29th, 2013 14:00

Hi Gantry,

We are a small but passionate group supporting Sputnik at Dell and we read all the posts and weigh in when we get a chance. Ill forward your Bluetooth mouse issue to the right Dell/Canonical folk.  That being said, the best way to get issues "officially" recognized is by calling support.