Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 15th, 2015 04:00

Please offer US keyboard layouts outside the US

Hello!

I'm a Debian Developer and recently stumbled across the Dell XPS 13 Developer Edition and was about to buy the laptop today as both the price tag and the specs convinced me to get it as a replacement for my old IBM ThinkPad T60.

However, upon closer inspection of the item's listing, I found that these laptops are sold with domestic keyboard layouts only which for me means, a German keyboard layout.

Dell might not be aware of this, but a large group of developers actually prefer US keyboard layouts - even outside the US - simply because many international keyboard layouts like the German or French one are less comfortable to use when writing code (e.g., the braces are harder to access and so on).

So, if anyone at Dell actually cares about a laptop sold with the "Developer Edition" tag, Dell should also provide this laptop with a US keyboard layout outside the US. Apple has been doing this for years now, so I am a bit puzzled that Dell, who primarily target businesses, can't offer the same.

Pity, would have almost ordered that gorgeous XPS 13 Developer Edition today.

Cheers,

Adrian

4 Posts

June 18th, 2015 15:00

I've ordered a US/International layout since US layout was not available at all. But since I actually prefer the US layout I'm very happy they kinda sent me the wrong keyboard. :P

Just for reference:
* US layout: http://i.imgur.com/HhDxWSV.png

* US/International layout: http://i.imgur.com/FPFNU26.png

So US layout has Shift-key left of 'Z' whereas the US/International has a tilde key. (and some other "minor" differeence).

1 Message

August 7th, 2015 00:00

@cbmuser thanks for all your effort in making Dell aware that potential customers in non-US regions want the XPS 13 Developer Edition with the US Keyboard layout.