Highlighted
Jhudora
1 Copper

Frustrated.

I have a XPS1701X running Windows 7. I discovered a few weeks ago that my Disk Drive no longer worked. Its a Code 39, I've tried uninstalling and restarting, I've tried deleting the upper and lower filters, I've tried uninstalling recent updates, ran Dell's diagnostic, ect. Basically everything. when i uninstalled the drive and restarted, it said "HL-DT-ST DVDRWBD CT30N failed, basically Device driver software was not successfully installed. I'm at my wits end. I am an Architectural Engineer and basically don't have a disk drive. This is a problem. Somebody please help me!

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Dell-Rajesh R
5 Tungsten

Re: Frustrated.

Hi Jhudora,

It can be annoying with technical issues like this and i can understand the importance of the computer for an Engineer. Let me try resolving this issue for you.

There are several causes of Code 39 errors:

• A required device driver is missing.
  • A required binary file is corrupted.
  • There is a problem with the file I/O process.
  • A driver that is referencing an entry point in another binary file is unable to load.

I recommend updating firmware for the DVD drive. I have provided a link below for firmware update:

http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/us/en/19/DriverDetails/Product/xps-17?driverId=523CM&osCode=W764...

Download:

• Click [Download Now]
  •  Saves the file on your desktop.

Install:

• Double-click the new icon on the desktop. (For example labeled CT30N-A101.zip)  
  • Extract or unzip to C:\DELL\DRIVERS\CT30N-A101(Example path)Choose update file from [Win] if you install in Windows environment or [DOS] folder if you install in DOS environment.
  • Double-click the installation file and follow the on-screen installation instructions.  If the issue still persists, kindly private message me the service tag.