Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

August 20th, 2015 17:00

How to install SSD for Inspiron 14 3452?

Hello - I think I'm in over my head here. I just bought the Inspiron 14 model 3452 laptop, with 32GB eMMC hard drive. I opened the back of the case, thinking it would be relatively easy to install an SSD drive. However, all I see is an empty slot for the HDD with no pins for the SSD to go into. Not sure if there is something else I need to be opening? I couldn't find any instructional videos, and am afraid to do much else with this. Please help, obviously I am a novice when it comes to these things. I have previously used an SSD drive as an external storage option, but wanted to install it within the laptop this time around.

Thank you in advance!

3 Posts

December 7th, 2015 13:00

It amazes me how little information there is on the web regarding this matter: I bought this machine for light use since my main laptop is going through a repair process.

I saw this on the black friday deals for 160 taxes included and took the plunge... I thought to myself: I will upgrade the HDD with a 250 gb drive I have lying around and I will bump the ram to 4 gb.

To my surprise:

There is 1... yes ONE RAM SLOT. and there is an opening for the HDD but no cable. Upon further investigation I came to the conclusion that it is indeed not possible or viable to upgrade the storage on this machine. yes I stripped the computer down to its motherboard and its like they took the insides of a windows 10 tablet and put them on a laptop case.

So, I had a few spare parts lying around and I had an 8gb SO DIMM that I decided to try:

Worst case scenario: The bios will bump the RAM down to 4gb as its as far as it goes.

Best Case scenario: The bios will recognize the 8gb.

To my surprise it did work with the whole 8gb... its a vast improvement but not stellar.

So here are some thing you can do to make this laptop usable: