Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

August 20th, 2015 17:00

How to install SSD for Inspiron 14 3452?

Hello - I think I'm in over my head here. I just bought the Inspiron 14 model 3452 laptop, with 32GB eMMC hard drive. I opened the back of the case, thinking it would be relatively easy to install an SSD drive. However, all I see is an empty slot for the HDD with no pins for the SSD to go into. Not sure if there is something else I need to be opening? I couldn't find any instructional videos, and am afraid to do much else with this. Please help, obviously I am a novice when it comes to these things. I have previously used an SSD drive as an external storage option, but wanted to install it within the laptop this time around.

Thank you in advance!

4 Posts

December 8th, 2015 20:00

Thank you for this reply, most helpful one out of all of them. Obviously, you feel my pain! I did install an Kingston 8GB SODIMM and that helped. I will try using an SDHC card next, although I don't use much apps at all on this notebook. Will also try your recommendations for cleaning the Win10 install too. Thx again!

1 Message

December 30th, 2015 18:00

Thanks so much for this post, it really helps. Can you explain how the Sd card will help with the Windows update?

1 Message

January 27th, 2016 16:00

2.- Get a class 10 SD card and use it to install your apps and windows updates. One thing I forgot to mention is that this computer is unusable out of the box, because the newest windows 10 update requires more free space than the one physically available on your computer.  Using the SD card will let you update the computer as needed.