Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

August 20th, 2015 17:00

How to install SSD for Inspiron 14 3452?

Hello - I think I'm in over my head here. I just bought the Inspiron 14 model 3452 laptop, with 32GB eMMC hard drive. I opened the back of the case, thinking it would be relatively easy to install an SSD drive. However, all I see is an empty slot for the HDD with no pins for the SSD to go into. Not sure if there is something else I need to be opening? I couldn't find any instructional videos, and am afraid to do much else with this. Please help, obviously I am a novice when it comes to these things. I have previously used an SSD drive as an external storage option, but wanted to install it within the laptop this time around.

Thank you in advance!

2 Posts

April 25th, 2016 13:00

After a few hours on with tech support asking them why it doesn't specify that the hard drive is not upgradeable on certain 3452 laptops I was able to discover it is based on the CPU option (Celeron N3050 CPU and Motherboard are embedded drives, no connector, the Pentium N3700 CPU and Motherboard have the connector for a swappable drive, may be others but this is verfied).

As I said above the motherboard with the fast quad core CPU (N3700) has the connector and I was able to grab one on ebay for $75USD (Dell Inspiron 14 3452 Intel Pentium N3700 Quad Core to 2.4GHZ Motherboard JX7F0) JX7F0 is the part number. I was basically told that I'm SOL even though it never specified when I bought the laptop (and I am still in Warranty) that the upgrade path was NIL. Insult to injury I will also need to buy a drive caddy and a cable ($25-$30USD) a bit much to spend on a cheap laptop but hey, it will squeeze a little longer out of laptop's life.

1 Message

August 31st, 2016 11:00