Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

W

September 9th, 2005 21:00

STEP by STEP Hard Drive Installation for DELL XPS GEN5

I am a newbie when it comes to opening up the computer and stuff. I don't understand words like registry adn bios. Having said that, i heard it's not rocket science to add a second hard drive. I don't understand Raid and I don't think I care for it. All I want to do is add a second hard drive for more storage. I've opened up the console and saw that there are only sata connectors. I'm planning to buy a 300gb sata150 from newegg. Once I plug it in, will there be some program that will guide me through? I would appreciate any info. If someone could write a step by step guide that would be great or any tips, advice, look-outs, that would be very appreciated. Thanx in advance!

1 Rookie

• 

87.5K Posts

September 9th, 2005 22:00

Hardware:

http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/dimxpsg5/sm/parts0.htm#wp1053780

Avoid Maxtor; remember to buy a SATA data cable (will come with the drive if a retail kit, otherwise, you'll need to buy one with the drive).

Then go into setup, enable the drive, and boot. Open the disc administrator (control panel/comp management/admin tools) and partition and format the drive.

September 9th, 2005 23:00

Thanx for the info. I also want to make one thing clear, I do not want to upgrade or put my operating system on this drive. I just want a second hard drive simply for storage. Does that change anything?

I understand formatting, but can someone once and for all explain partioning to me? What is its purpose?

2.7K Posts

lol, i read that most sata drives are only ide drives with a bridge chip lol... get seagate they are sata native drives all of them unlike maxtor which only started true sata during the maxtor 10 new drives

10 Elder

• 

46K Posts

BrothersRobber.