Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

December 31st, 2016 09:00

Will installing a PCIe SATA III card improve SSD performance?

Hoping to settle a question that came up on another forum.

I have a Dell Studio XPS 9100. The basic specs appear below.

I am a user of Pro Tools 11.3, a professional-level  DAW.

Another Pro Tools user suggested that I should install a PCIe SATA III 6.0 GB card and connect my boot drive to that, to improve performance over the motherboard's SATA II.

Some of what I have read about this indicates that the performance improvement will be minimal at best and that speeds and performance could actually drop.

True or false?

I read this, from a StarTech technical support person:

Generally speaking, PCIe based controllers will always be a little slower as there is quite a bit more overhead required to run them and the data is passing through a different BUS. Also other devices like ‎PMVideo cards and sound cards and other controllers can slow down the PCIe Bus 6Gbps is a theoretical max. In reality the speed is quite a bit lower.

Again, true or false?

Thanks for any input anyone can provide.

Operating System
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
CPU
    Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.20GHz

RAM
    24.0GB Triple-Channel DDR3 @ 666MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard
    Dell Inc. 05DN3X (CPU 1)
Graphics
    2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 (EVGA)  

Samsung SSD 840 PRO Series
    Used Transfer Mode    SATA II 3.0Gb/s
    Interface    SATA
    Capacity    476 GB

675 Posts

January 4th, 2017 18:00

I'm really surprised that apparently no one ever encountered this issue.

1 Rookie

• 

87.5K Posts

January 6th, 2017 06:00

It depends upon your boot device.  If it's a hard drive, you'll see absolutely no difference - no single spinning hard drive of any type can begin to deliver 3G/s (i.e., SATA 3G, your current system limit).