Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

October 28th, 2016 23:00

XPS 12 SSD LiteOnIt stuck in windows PE

I work in IT and have been working on a computer for a friend.

Her daughter began to upgrade to Windows 10, then unplugged it.

From another thread on this forum, I got a file from Microsoft and a copy of windows 10 and tried to continue, but it literally sat there "working" for a day.

I tried to revert but that did about the same.

I am unsure what OS was on here. I think Windows 8 pro.

The errors for reverting and finishing the install denoted a locked SSD.

I contacted the manufacturer of the drive and got some help, but it ultimately led me nowhere.

I have tried every type of partition tool.

I tried to create a WinPE tool and Hirem's too. 

I tried to use a few Linux OS.

Why is this drive so hard to work with? Nice security I suppose, but geesh.

Here, I read of plugging the drive in after the computer starts and also trying to get at it after the computer is "asleep." 

I went back at the manufacturer and begged for a means to wipe the SSD. They were kind enough to give me a preformat tool. (This is just a 'state' for a drive, doesn't really do anything but should allow me to reinstall windows and get access and all)

I get the computer into that state, go to Dell Drivers download section, enter the computer's details and....no copy of windows is available there. I have found it available for many in the past, but not this one.

There's a number of threads on this topic but I'm not finding them ending in success unless a message is there like "Thanks Danny from Dell Support." The fix isn't shared. I've struck out so many times, I lack confidence that the preformat tool will work.

How would you advise me to unlock the drive, wipe, and install windows on it? (She doesn't like windows 10 on her other computer so...)