Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

March 24th, 2008 08:00

Maintenance Mode in ECC?

Maybe it's there, maybe it's not, but I haven't found a way to temporarily suppress alerts during times like our monthly maintenance windows or when servers are being taken down repeatedly during the day for whatever reason.

For example, right now I have two servers that are being tested and the owner is rebooting the server multiple times during the day. so I get alerts relating to all of the agents going down and coming up. It would be way handy to have the ability to suppress just those two servers from the alerting. I'm still somewhat new to ECC, so forgive me in this feature is there.

385 Posts

March 25th, 2008 05:00

Any reason you can't just disable the agents on the host in maintenance mode that you want to supress the alerts? Most of the events are "point-in-time" not log scraping type of alerts so that should supress them.

An enhancement request to have a graceful and scheduled maintenance mode would be very nice...

385 Posts

March 24th, 2008 09:00

This is not ideal, but you could modify the Schedules in one of two ways:

1) Edit all of the default schedules to skip the time you do not want to poll.
2) Create a new schedule excluding the maintenance windows and modify the policies you want to avoid getting false alerts from to use this schedule.

I'd go with option 2) personally just because I'm guessing there are only a few alerts that you are really concerned about supressing.

Hope this helps.

5.7K Posts

March 24th, 2008 12:00

So there is no real maintenance window ? A simple click to suspend any DCP ?

40 Posts

March 24th, 2008 13:00