Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 4th, 2010 02:00

Broken screen - what can I do?

I have had my streak for 2 weeks, and the screen has stopped working. the glass at the front is perfect, but it looks like something behind the glass has broken.

I bought it from an o2 shop.

where can I get it repaired, and is it a warranty repair?

Thanks

70 Posts

November 5th, 2010 10:00

I am a design consultant for a number of Military projects and no the Streak would not have passed my rigorous standards. 

The Streak is not a finished product but more of a concept beta device.

The top and bottom screen  plastics are of very poor quality and subject to stress cracks.

Apart from the Display the biggest design failure is its data/charging port. This has been left open to the elements leaving a direct route for dirt, dust and moisture ingress. It would have been pretty simple to have designed some form of port cover or followed other manufacturers by using mini/micro USB format. There is no earthly reason for Dell to have used the port style they did.

The Gorilla Glass is subject to scratching quite easily, so buy a good quality screen protector. This could have been resolved to some degree at the design stage by ensuring  the Gorilla Glass was treated with a hard surface coating ( they could have also treated it with a finger print resistant coating too, Larger screen = larger finger print magnet.

The battery cover while a novel approach will fail pretty quickly, the aluminium used is so thin its subject to stress and easily deformed.  The locking Lugs of the battery cover are subjected to constant pressure as the cover is held on with a pressure fit. This will fail after a certain number of battery openings and closings.

The carbon body finish while cosmetically good looking is not resilient enough to withstand daily use and will quickly degrade leaving your Streak with a very unattractive and patchy finish.