Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

B

December 15th, 2013 09:00

VENUE 7 APPS TO SD

Anyone know how to move apps to the sd card? I have not been able to do it. Got music and pics there with no problem.

Is this not allowed by Android 4.2.2 or is it a Dell restriction?

24 Posts

December 20th, 2013 04:00

I am fairly new to Android, but what I read is that you cannot put apps on the SD expansion memory, as they will not run from it.  I think this is standard with 4.1 and 4.2, at least. The SD memory seems to be for storing data only, like movies, documents, images, music, etc.

1 Message

January 7th, 2014 13:00

That's not my experience.  I have used other tablets running 4.3 (which is what I'm running on my Dell Venue 7 now) and I could move any non-default apps (apps I downloaded and installed) to my external SD Card.  After clicking Settings, then Apps, there should be a button that says "move to sd card".  If it isn't greyed out, you can move the app and it runs without a problem.  I think it's ridiculous that this option isn't available on a tablet that has external memory.  It was available on my previous table, the Nexus 7, which didn't have an external SD card.  I'm inserting an image of what the screen with this option looks like:

24 Posts

January 7th, 2014 17:00

WOW, this is great news, and I agree that it didn't make sense that the system would not allow you store and run from external memory. You mentioned it could be greyed out.  Do you know what types of apps are prevented from being moved?  Also, what happens when you remove the SD card?  Do the icons for those apps disappear from the display?

I have to check my current tablet (I had to return the Dell Venue 8, long story) to see if that works with it (it is running 4.1.2).

Thanks for your response.

February 21st, 2014 08:00