Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

M

August 8th, 2017 01:00

Venue 11 Pro 7140 not Windows 10 compatible? Bluescreens, bad sleep, ect. event log ID 129, Reset to device

Word from Dell please on this... I am so *** tired of using Dell products, where their driver support is just terrible. I guess this was totally my LAST product I ever bought from Dell.

I am an IT expert, so please dont ask me stupid questions or say something line "did you update the bios or drivers" Thank you.

Comping to the point:

It seems the SSD in the Tablet, the Sandisk X110 is not fully compatible with the tablet or Windows 10, or has just bad firmware or whatever. The problem seems to be related to a sleep modus of AHCI called HIPM/DIPM.

Windows randomly has bluescreens in sleep mode, the event logs say something about "disk failure" "E/A error", "device not found", "raidport0 was reset", and so on. All leading into a direction of disk issue. SMART health shows 100% OK and I am totally sure, the SSD is fine and it's a Windows driver issue. I guess the SSD goes into a sleep mode and Windows cant access it anymore (doesnt wake it up for whatever reason", and then freezes or bluescreens.

Found other related posts about this, for example here:

http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/mobile-devices/f/4586/t/19568436

http://www.nxhut.com/2015/01/storahci-id-129-reset-to-device.html

I tried the option with turning HIPM/DIPM off (active means off actually), but this is NOT a solution. Because this means, the tablet has HORRIFIC sleep drain. I tested it with powercfg and it shows, that when I disable HIPM/DIPM, the CPU never goes into deep sleep mode, and shows a HW of 0%.

Then there are lots of other issues with the tablet:

- randomly black screen in Windows 10 login screen, I have to wait about 30 seconds, then press power off/on to get a picture

- The WWAN module is terrible and stops works randomly, have to reboot Windows