Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

October 24th, 2013 19:00

XPS 10 Windows 8.1 RT - unable to recover, refresh or restore.

Created recovery media - duplicates - and stored them. The second time, deleted the recovery partition to save disk space and then upgraded to Windows 8.1 Preview with Outlook. (I'm an IT Admin so I have to test new products.) Of course you can not restore to Windows 8 once you upgrade to the 8.1 RT preview. Knew this going in, but expected basic refresh functionality from the actual release.

Now I have upgraded to the newly released Windows 8.1 RT. Was using a local account prior to the upgrade, but during the upgrade it forced me to use my Microsoft credentials. So now my tablet wallpaper and stuff has replicated to my desktop computer - which I don't want. Also, username directories don't match now on the tablet so I want to restore to setup and start fresh.

When I run the recovery, "Remove everything and reinstall Windows", I get the error:

"Insert media

Some files are missing. your Windows installation or recovery media will provide these files."

And when I plug in my recovery media made before 8.1, I get the error:

"The media inserted is not valid

Make sure to insert your Windows installation or recovery media."

So how can I restore? None of the recovery options work.

Does anyone know if the recently posted Microsoft Surface RT images will work?

Has Dell posted a downloadable recovery image?

16 Posts

November 8th, 2013 01:00

Just want to add a 'Me Too' to this.  I've got other issues (see later post) and I wanted to do a factory reset but hit the same problem as you.

From other posts it appears the only way to get a factory reset is to send it back to Dell :emotion-7:

As you point out, Microsoft have released a recovery image for Surface.  Surely it would make sense (and save them support time and effort) if Dell did the same?

8 Posts

November 8th, 2013 13:00