Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

September 12th, 2018 10:00

parsing error uemcli create snapshot

I have been successful in creating snapshots using the CLI but when I try to add the -replicate option I get an error message:

Operation failed. Error code: 0x1000017

Command line parsing failed near "-replicate" token.

The command string that fails follows:

uemcli /prot/snap create -name OracleFRA_2018-09-12_01:57:45 -source res_4 -keepFor 30d -access ckpt -replicate yes -keepSameAsSource -allowRemoteAutoDelete yes

If I remove everything having to do with replication - the command works

uemcli /prot/snap create -name OracleFRA_2018-09-12_01:57:45 -source res_4 -keepFor 30d -access ckpt

Any ideas On what I am doing wrong ??

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

September 28th, 2018 05:00

Hi SJRWMD,

I'm not an engineer, but I'm looking into this from a documentation perspective. This switch has changed a couple of times since Unity came out, so because it could depend on your OE, I'd recommend running the -h option on /prot/snap create to get the correct info.

I believe the switch should be -replicateSnap and you should drop the "yes" after it.

/prot/snap create [ -async ] -source [ -name ] [ -descr ] [ -access { ckpt | share } ] [ { -keepFor | -allowAutoDelete { yes | no } } ] [ -replicateSnap [ { -keepSameAsSource | -keepRemotelyFor | -allowRemoteAutoDelete { yes | no } } ] ]

Hopefully I can confirm this shortly with Engineering and get the document updated for our next release.

Thanks,

Holly

4 Posts

September 27th, 2018 03:00

Three days for moderator approval then no answer ....

Well the documentation is wrong - you cannot use the -replicate parm on the create snap command.

I implemented a script to perform the Snap it then captures the snap ID and then it executes a snap replicate command. - show below.

uemcli /prot/snap -id $IDNo replicate

I was really hoping an EMC employee would respond to this ...

450 Posts