Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

February 27th, 2013 11:00

How to do VMAX Performance Assesment?

We are migrating from Vmax 10k to Vmax 20k and to perform this task we have to to an analysis on Performance factors on Target Vmax 20k. I have never done any performance assesment before so i was wondering if i can get any help from A to Z related to Performance assesment on VMAX.

February 27th, 2013 13:00

We have both SPA and Unisphere installed for VMAX. My concern is how to collect the Data and analyze it. and what are the numbers which should be taken into consideration for performance assessement.

1.2K Posts

February 27th, 2013 13:00

If you're licensed for Symmetrix Performance Analyzer or ProSphere, you can obtain a great deal of information about your existing environment.  You can also work with your local sales team to get the performance desk to assist you.  Is that an option in your case?

467 Posts

February 27th, 2013 20:00

You can talk to your EMC accounts team and ask for them to look at symmerge.. it's the easiest tool for looking at information like this...  however you can gather it yourself.. but that will only show information about how your current environment is running.. performance is a complex beast but is broken down into four parts: front end (FA, FA ports, and cpu use), back end (DAs, etc), cache, and disk (physical drives)...  

Each part has various stats,  and it's way to much to get into each one.. but SPA does a really good job of showing you the most important ones by default..

The key to performance really is to answer the question "is my system running ok?". .. You need a baseline for "performing acceptable" so you can look for variations in it..

1.3K Posts

February 28th, 2013 06:00

Do you want to do the assesment to understand how the performance might look on the 20K vs. the 10K?  If so, your EMC team and SymmMerge are your best options for modeling a new platform.