Howzit51
1 Copper

Dell R740XD VMWare 6.7U3 Unstable Network Connection

Hi guys, relative noob here. Apologies for the long winded post but I'm trying to give as much information as I can. I was running Dell VMWare 6.5U3 on a Dell R720 - rock solid. I replaced the R720 with a R740XD in the rack using the same network cables, same ports on the Netgear switch and power cables and setup of VMWare configured to use the same NIC and IP configuration. The R740XD was loaded with Dell VMWare 6.7U3.

The vSwitch on the R740 is configured as default standard, with two port groups and four uplinks. Port groups are VM Networks and Management Network. This is the same configuration that works without issues on the replaced R720 and the remaining R720.

I tried to copy a 3.6TB Centos VM from another Dell R720 running Dell VMWare 6.5U3, using VMWare vCenter Converter Standalone,to the new Dell R740XD, which I had done many times before between the two Dell R720s, without any problems. I was quite surprised to see this operation fail after about 30 minutes - reason for failure given by Converter Standalone was Network Error.

I then pinged the Dell R740XD from the Windows 10 PC running Converter standalone and discovered that after about 20 successful pings I would get 4 to 6 packets timing out, then another 20 to 24 successful pings, then 4 to 6 timeouts, and so it would repeat this cycle of successful pings and timeouts, I pinged the IRDA interface from the Windows 10 PC and this was rock solid - no timeouts. I ssh using putty into the R740 Esxi shell and the session terminates intermittently.