Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

September 24th, 2014 07:00

Getting started with EMC VNX7500 and vSphere 5.5

I'm new to EMC, and as a result, I'm a bit lost. I'm primarily responsible for vSphere, but we recently inherited some VNX arrays we need to integrate with our existing vSphere 5.5 environment. So, I'm trying to find out how to do that. I read through some documents I found hoping to find clear steps to do so; Using EMC VNX with vSphere and the EMC Storage Integration with VMware vSphere Best Practices guide. However, these documents seemed very basic, and only gave an introduction on the various technologies offered. Our storage team has set up the EMC array, but they are only trained on the array, and not vSphere. I'm trained on vSphere, but not EMC. We have been using various HP EVA models up until now and have had little trouble with them. Following the basic steps we would use for the EVAs to set up the VNX array gets us a working environment, but in the little testing we've run so far issues have arisen. While storage vmotioning a large VM the host would become disconnected. When adding a disk to a vm the task would time out and disconnect with an error. Things that just shouldn't happen. EMC support looked at the logs and said it looked good to them before quickly closing the ticket leaving us to rely on VMware support. I have a ticket open with VMware going on a month now with little to no progress. EMC support actually suggested disabling primitive hardware accelerated mode which I took to mean turning off VAAI. That doesn't make sense to me at all, but he swore that his performance team recommended it, and that it was even recommended by VMware. I asked to see the kb article, and he said he would send it.

Everything is running the latest software/firmware as far as I'm aware; hosts are 5.5.0 build 1892794, and the array is 05.32.000.5.215 OE. VMW_SATP_ALUA_CX is set as round robin on the hosts.