Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

February 26th, 2014 03:00

FAST with Different IO Type and TEST systems

Hi All,

I'm new to EMC FAST technology so I'm looking for some opinions.

We are deploying a very IO intensive database application. The IO Pattern is around 60% Read and 40% Write.

When I understand the benefit of FAST on a storage dedicated to a single production environment , I'm worried about the possible impact that could have production and non production systems deployed within the same storage pool ( physical disks ) , which would include a mix of SSD , FC and SATA.

Until now I always configured separated storage pool to isolate IOPS by non production , production systems and IO type , but apparently with FAST the recommendation is to create a single large pool.

My concerns are with the possible impact that a very high intensive IO operation running within a non production environment could actuality impact the performance of the production environment which would resides within the same pool.

Most of the concern I have is with writing but also reading , including with FAST Cache. Would be disk block from the TEST system marked as hot and moved to SSD for instance ?

Referring to write , if a non production environment is generating enough IO to saturate the disk pool , how the production system would re-act ? Is there a way to reserve IO at storage level ?

Thanks for your time.

Luca

116 Posts

February 26th, 2014 07:00

Hello Luca,

I think your questions would be better answered in either the Enterprise Storage with VMAX or the Unified Storage community.   I'd be happy to move your discussion to one of those communities, if you tell me which arrays you're using today.

Thanks,

Paula

3 Posts

February 26th, 2014 08:00

HI Paula,

I'm using VNX5400 .

thanks

Luca

116 Posts

February 26th, 2014 08:00

Luca,

I've moved your discussion to the Unified Storage community.  Thanks for posting your questions.