Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 16th, 2015 15:00

How to delete File Storage Pool on VNX5200

Hello!  I am new to the support community and I am not even sure if I am listing this in the correct place.  Please feel free to redirect me if this is the wrong place.

I have a customer with a unified VNX5200.  Initially they wanted to run a CIFS file system on the array.  They have now decided they are more comfortable running the CIFS file system from a Microsoft server as apposed to running from the DM on the VNX5200.  I have already used the Disk Provisioning Wizard for File to let AVM handle all the tasks associated with the file storage pool creation.  I am now trying to delete the pool that was created by AVM.  You do not seem to be able to do this from within Unisphere.  I have tried to use the nas_pool -delete command from the CLI but it is not working for me.

It first told me that the nas_pool -delete command had to be executed by root user.  I su to root user and then I get "Error 2224: invalid operation".  Any help with this would be greatly appreciated!  Let me know if you need any other information.

Thanks,

Bobby

1 Rookie

• 

20.4K Posts

April 16th, 2015 16:00

Bobby,

i saw you commented on another discussion as well. So did you actually delete the LUNs before you deleted them from datamovers ?

April 16th, 2015 16:00

Yes.  I first removed the LUNs from the ~filestorage Storage Group.  Then I was able to delete the LUNs from within Unisphere on the LUNs create and manage page.  I have figured out how to delete the disks using the nas_disk -delete command.  I had to first shrink the file storage pool to get rid of the volume (v99) that was using the file storage pool.  Once the volume was removed from the pool I was able to use the nas_disk -delete command.  Below is what I have done from the CLI:

nas_pool -shrink clarsas_r6 -volumes v99

nas_disk -delete d8

nas_disk -delete d7

nas_pool -list