JulianMilano
2 Bronze

SAN Copy from VNX5300 to UNITY400- Is it sync'ing?

This is my first time setting up SanCopy from one SAN to another so I'm not sure I've set it up correctly. I'm using this as my reference: https://www.emc.com/collateral/white-papers/h15164-migrating-to-emc-unity-san-copy.pdf

I am at Step 18 where I have 2 LUNs on the VNX setup for SANCopy, and both LUNs are sitting at Status Complete. Am I to understand that if data changes on the source LUN that it will automatically replicate to the destination LUN on the UNITY?

From what I read, the answer is NO, that I have to manually sync the LUNs. If this is the case then I believe that if I change data on the source LUN that the SANCopy status screen should show me how many blocks have changed, awaiting me to manually perform a sync. Well, I changed about 1GB of data on the source LUN, then on the VNX, clicked on the next to the SanCopy to show the source LUN, which still shows a status of 100% completed, but the Mark tab shows "Number of blocks changed to be copied" = 0?

Can someone explain what's going on?

Details:

The Properties of the source LUN shows:

* Session Type: Incremental.

* Sync Copy Required is unchecked.

* Session Throttle = 1

The LUNs are presented to a VMware Windows/SQL cluster as RDMs. I checked the IDs and they match so I've got the right LUNs.

Labels (1)
Tags (4)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
JulianMilano
2 Bronze

Re: SAN Copy from VNX5300 to UNITY400- Is it sync'ing?