Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 31st, 2012 02:00

VNX NFS host access level

Hello Gurus,

Im still new to EMC world.

We have got a new VNX, in the new NFS share, which ever hosts we put in rw field, they still get read only, unless we put them in the root access field as well.

Is that how NFS export works in nfs? I have to put all the hosts in root access level, so they can have read and write?

What Im trying to acheive is to give read/write permission to a set of hosts?

I read the NFS guide for VNX, and still not able to differentiate the root access hosts from the read write, as in other NAS flavor, you dont see the root option.

Thanks

Al

6 Posts

August 31st, 2012 02:00

New finding :

Adding new host to the root level, and the read-write, then removing it frm the root, will keep the read-write, but it has to be added to root first.

not sure If Im explaning the issue clearly here, but it is just sounds weird to me.

8.6K Posts

August 31st, 2012 03:00

Thats how NFS works

Any root user (UID=0) gets mapped to anon unless that client is specified as trustworthy by being included in root=

That is on top of the usual rw=,ro= clauses

So if cases where your client works as a root user you need both

I suggest to take a look at the appendix of the “Managing NFS on VNX” manual – available from Powerlink – its got a table with the effects of these options

A good book like the classic “NFS and NIS” by Hal Stern wouldn’t hurt either

Rainer

June 23rd, 2015 03:00

Hi,

Adding to "Aladdin's" info, if we reverse the situation, then what will be the impact?

What if we have a export which has all access/rw/root permissions and later we remove "rw" from the export and leave the "root" as it is, will there be a problem? I believe yes but I don't have a test environment to do try this.

Will customer be able to perform read/write operations?

Cheers,

Jeethendra

8.6K Posts

June 23rd, 2015 03:00

Yes