8 Krypton

Concern over possible safety issue with laptop charger/PSU

I have a Vostro 3750 laptop which is now well out of warranty, however yesterday evening I experienced a problem that has left me concerned over the safety of the original AC adapter.

As I went to connect AC power and the connection made, I experienced a moderate popping sound but also a fairly large flash from the connector as contact was made. I am an electronics engineer and well used to expected behaviour as power is applied in this manner, and this behaviour was enough to startle me. This incident also immediately tripped the household ELCB (earth leakage breaker) on the incoming mains supply suggesting that a fault current had passed down the protective earth lead in the 3 core lead.

I tested the charger in a safe environment fully expecting it to be dead, but it is not. Functionally it is fully operational. Odd, and I was surprised.

Returning the charger back to service however revealed that the 3 amp plug top fuse had also blown during this incident.

Piecing together the 'evidence' of what happened I suspect that one of the incoming mains filter components within the charger has failed, probably one of the filter capacitors typically connected between each line (both neutral and live) and ground.

This would account for the noise, the ELCB tripping and most conclusively of all, the 3 amp fuse rupturing. I also have a suspicion of a faint odour from around the inlet socket on the charger something again that would be consistent with a failure along the lines suggested.