Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 21st, 2015 11:00

Is my Inspiron 1545 compatible with Upcoming Windows 7?

If so, will my Microsoft Office Home and Student 2007 be adequate? Will it have to be re-installed? I'm not a techie, I don't know what I don't know and feeling rather frightened of possible consequences.

(I found my documentation right after I posted the last query!)   

3 Posts

July 22nd, 2015 06:00

Thank you so much! I don't understand everything but it's clear that clear that my computer isn't a candidate for the upgrade. I was considering getting a new computer anyway, but it won't be for a few months. In the meantime - how do I un-reserve Windows 10?  

• 

16.7K Posts

July 22nd, 2015 06:00

LittleJoey                                                                                     

It may work on your computer, but it is not supported by Dell and will not have any Windows 10 drivers. Below are the system specs to run Windows 10.

August 15th, 2015 11:00

Did you make a mistake in the question title?  Did you intend to ask about upgrading to Windows 10?  Your later comment does imply that.

If so then the answer is that a Dell Inspiron 1545 works well with Windows 10. 

I assume that you are running Windows 7 SP1 or 8.1 so that you qualify for the free upgrade.  Personally, I do not think Windows 10 would be worth buying even though I am happy with it on my computer.

Do consider waiting a few months to upgrade.  Many users have been having problems since upgrading and their experiences should help to ensure that the OS is improved.  Take advantage of their difficulties by delaying your own upgrade.  I have Windows 10 in a dual-boot arrangement and am not upgrading my main Windows 7 installation until late November.  We have until 29th July 2016 to do the upgrade so there's no rush.