Highlighted
DaveKaretnyk
1 Copper

English language pack or re-install Win8.1 English?

Jump to solution

I'm about to receive a Inspiron 17 7000, but due to my location it was only possible to buy a system with Windows 8.1 Pro Dutch language version only. I only want an English language interface on the laptop so I guess I have two choices

1) Get it up and running and then install the English language pack. And never use the Dutch ui again ;-)

2) Complete re-install with Windows 8.1 Pro English. I do have access to a license (I have a Microsoft MSDN subscription) so that's not a problem. But it's a while since I've done this and I've just starting reading about UEFI, Secure Boot, and so on. And more importantly I wonder if that messes up my warranty/maintenance in some way?

For simplicity, I'm tempted by the first option. But does it have limitations or restrictions compared to the second?

Appreciate any suggestions?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

RE: English language pack or re-install Win8.1 English?

Jump to solution

DaveKaretnyk,

It would be a lot easier on you to just install the English Language Pack.

Social Media Support
#IWork4Dell
To help us troubleshoot, send us via a private message: Dell PC or Monitor Service Tag number
Out of Warranty Support
Would you like to be a Dell Community Rockstar?
0 Kudos
2 Replies

Jump to solution

DaveKaretnyk,

It would be a lot easier on you to just install the English Language Pack.

Social Media Support
#IWork4Dell
To help us troubleshoot, send us via a private message: Dell PC or Monitor Service Tag number
Out of Warranty Support
Would you like to be a Dell Community Rockstar?
0 Kudos
DaveKaretnyk
1 Copper

Jump to solution

Thanks - that works pretty much OK. At least to a level that I'm happy with.

The exceptions that I've seen are below (might be of interest to others).