Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 4th, 2015 18:00

Please help me with Windows Reinstall.

So, I got an Inspiron since last year, which came with Windows 8 pre-installed.

Then, as a computer engineering student, I wanted to explore the UNIX system and installed a Linux distro. Then I had Windows and Linux in it, as intended. But I didnt like the distro I installed, then I installed another one, and said that I wanted it to uninstall the previous Linux I had and install this one.

But, this new Linux distro ended up erasing EVERY OS I had installed. And I need Windows for college. So, I have used the "mediacreationtool.exe" to create the installation media so I could do a clean install of windows.

But, another problem came up, it asked for a Product Key, it didnt just automatically retrieve it from my motherboard Then ok, I tried what this guy said over here: 

http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/software-os/f/4677/t/19535839

Now I have installed Windows 8. BUT OF COURSE, a new problem appeared. There was no internet connection as Windows was trying to look for a Ethernet connection not Wi-Fi. And there is no "Wi-Fi Toggle Button" of any kind on it either. And, to sum it up, none of the keyboard functions work besides the sound adjust. I can't adjust brightness using the keyboard.

I'm very *** off and annoyed. When will this end? Please I need some help.

27 Posts

August 6th, 2015 18:00

Thanks so much for your help, my friend! 

I've read both pages and watched the videos, I'll try that tomorrow. Just 1 thing: Am I supposed to reply to you with the hardware ID and model?

Thanks

7 Technologist

• 

16K Posts

August 7th, 2015 02:00

Just 1 thing: Am I supposed to reply to you with the hardware ID and model?

Only if you need help with system drivers.

27 Posts

August 7th, 2015 07:00

Well, I have succesfully installed the correct version of Windows 8.1. It hanst asked for a product key, so thank you for that.