Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

April 3rd, 2009 14:00

Dell 8300 Windows XP recovery disk - can I get a replacement (UK)

Hi,

Newbie here!

I have an ageing (5 year old!) Dell 8300 desktop, and the hard disk is dying.

I want to reinstall XP onto a new hard disk, but I have lost the 'restore disk' that came with the machine. I have the XP product license key stuck to the side of the computer.

So I just had a quick live chat with tech support, and the cheapest they'd ship a replacement disk was £19! I don't mind paying fair P&P, but that's excessive!

Have tech support given me correct information?

I am in the UK so I guess things here may be different to the USA

Thanks for your time, I did search before posting but didn't find a recent enough answer to know if it was still valid.

14 Posts

April 10th, 2009 02:00

Quick update. I emailed support to query the price and they have very kindly provided me with a disk free of charge. The computer is back up and running and I am very happy.

Thanks Dell!

4.6K Posts

April 4th, 2009 02:00

I suspect the cost, is simply due to the age of your system?

And in fairness to them... £19 is a lot cheaper than buying a brand new OEM XP disc elsewhere... given that they now cost more than buying a Vista OEM disc :emotion-55:

Buying an OEM XP Home disc would cost you in the order of £65 - £70, and an OEM XP Pro disc would typically set you back £110 - from the majority of the popular online stores (Aria, Micro Direct, Scan, CCL etc etc)!

So all things considered... £19 is actually a bargain :emotion-5:

14 Posts

April 4th, 2009 04:00

We'll have to disagree on that. If I needed a new XP license then £70 is fair enough. £19 would be insanely cheap.

But I already have the XP license. It came with the the computer. I simply need to re-install XP with that license. You can't need to spend £70 every time windows needs reinstalling :)