Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

May 18th, 2010 12:00

Factory Restore Disks

Why is it so hard to find any way to order factory restore disks. I have seen posts relating to this same issue in the forums. I repair computers for a living and have used other manufacturers website and they make it easy to order recovery disks that includes the factory installed OS and all programs and drivers that a system shipped with initially.  With Dell, they seem to make it difficlt, if not impossible to support their computers. If this is the way Dell treats it's customers, I will do my best to reduce the number of customers they have. As you can imagine, I am often asked to recommend computers when people are interested in purchasing one. If this is the kind of support Dell offers, I will keep that in mind when someone asks me for a computer purchase recommendation.

2 Intern

• 

20.1K Posts

May 18th, 2010 14:00

Dell has never had Factory Restore Disks, only Reinstallation disks with the operating system and device drivers. Dell has just started a new Media Reduction policy for non business systems. New computers have a program to allow the user to make their own recovery disks and Dell will usually supply the operating system disks to the original owner if needed. The Restore Partition is included on new computers for reinstalling to original factory settings. Read more HERE. 

2 Posts

April 14th, 2012 10:00

i need an insulation cd to down load thing that have beed lost on my comp

7 Technologist

• 

16K Posts

April 15th, 2012 08:00

Please give more information Aelkins66. What is the model of your Dell? What version of Windows XP, Vista or 7? Is your COA legible?

For Windows 7 see here Windows 7 Official .iso Download Links and A Clean Install of Windows 7.

For Windows Vista see here Windows Vista Official .iso Download Links and A Clean Install of Windows Vista.