Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

G

December 3rd, 2012 09:00

How to downgrade to windows 7 on XPS 13?

This is really getting me upset. I'm trying to downgrade my XPS 13 to windows 7. I hate windows 8 and no it will not grow on me. I've been using the final release for a couple of months now and I hate it. Everything I have tried to downgrade this laptop to windows 7 has not worked. I tried to create a bootable usb disk. Windows 8 wouldn't allow me to! It keeps giving me a message about UEFI. I don't have a CD rom drive in my laptop nor do I have an external so a bootable usb is all I can use. How can I downgrade and get this crap OS off my computer? God it's bad enough phones get locked bootloaders.. now I have to jump through hoops on my cpu just to get rid of an OS I HATE?

1.8K Posts

December 3rd, 2012 13:00

Hi graffixnyc,

It could be upsetting when you find it difficult to use a software. Microsoft provides downgrade rights to Windows 7 Professional for pre-installed copies of Windows 8 Pro. We will send the USB key with Windows 7 Professional if Windows 8 Pro came pre-installed from Dell. You have to purchase a copy of Windows 7 and install it, if the laptop came pre-installed with Windows 8.

I have added you as a friend. Please accept my friend request by clicking on my name ‘DELL-Rajath N ’highlighted in blue and then click on “Friends” tab at the top and then click on “Request to Review” and finally click on “Accept” button.

I am sending you a private message as well. Click on “Inbox” to respond to the message and provide the system’s Service Tag and contact details(including the name on the account) so I may access your system records and check for further course of action. You could also click on Start Conversation to send a private message. Please let me know if this helps

December 10th, 2012 08:00

Rajath,