Highlighted
washanda98
Copper

How to increase disk space on Studio 17

Jump to solution

Hi there! First off, I apologize if I post this in the wrong place. I'm new to this. I have a Studio 17 laptop (about 2 years old). My hard drive is split into 3 groups (partitions?). 

OS C: drive has 217 GB space(1.59 GB free);

RECOVERY E: drive has 14.9 GB space (7.26 GB free);

DATAPART1 D: drive has 232 GB space (232 GB free)

My question is: Is there any way for me to increase my C: drive by getting rid of some of the D: drive. I've tried googling but all I get is how to split the D: drive to make other groups. But, I want to increase my C: drive. Possible? If you could point me to a Knowledge Base article that would be great. I've gotten rid of any extra files that I could but I keep losing disk space. If it matters, I have a Studio 1737? running Windows Vista Home Edition. ANY help is greatly appreciated! THANK YOU!!!!!!!!! Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
6 Replies

Re: How to increase disk space on Studio 17

Jump to solution

You should look into merging C:\ and D:\ partitions.

There are couple of tutorials you can find by Googling.

0 Kudos
theflash1932
Diamond

Jump to solution

Open Disk Management (right-click [My] Computer, Manage, Storage) and look at "Disk 0" ... what is the order of partitions there? 

If they are listed C:, E:, then D:, then you have a decision to make. 

1) You can delete E:, then extend C: to occupy that space as well.  Doing this will delete your Recovery Partition ... it is what makes it possible to "roll back" to the factory-installed state of your computer, with all drivers and software - just like when you first turned it on.  If you would rather - or are willing - to simply reinstall from a Windows DVD, then you can delete the Recovery Partition without problems and extend C:.  You extend C: by right-clicking E:, Delete, then right-clicking C:, then Extend.