Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

February 9th, 2012 21:00

How to increase disk space on Studio 17

Hi there! First off, I apologize if I post this in the wrong place. I'm new to this. I have a Studio 17 laptop (about 2 years old). My hard drive is split into 3 groups (partitions?). 

OS C: drive has 217 GB space(1.59 GB free);

RECOVERY E: drive has 14.9 GB space (7.26 GB free);

DATAPART1 D: drive has 232 GB space (232 GB free)

My question is: Is there any way for me to increase my C: drive by getting rid of some of the D: drive. I've tried googling but all I get is how to split the D: drive to make other groups. But, I want to increase my C: drive. Possible? If you could point me to a Knowledge Base article that would be great. I've gotten rid of any extra files that I could but I keep losing disk space. If it matters, I have a Studio 1737? running Windows Vista Home Edition. ANY help is greatly appreciated! THANK YOU!!!!!!!!! :)

7 Technologist

• 

16.3K Posts

February 11th, 2012 13:00

That's fine, it just means you have two hard drives in your computer, but it also means that you cannot extend C: at all.  You will need to do as I suggested in number 2:

"move stuff to your D: drive.  If you have large manually-created folders, you can easily move them to the larger data partition.  You can also move your personal folders to the larger partition to free up space.  Right-click your My Documents folder, Properties, then change the Location to some place on the D: drive.  It will automatically move it and its contents to the new location.  You can do this with all your personal ("My") folders (music, pictures, downloads, etc.)."

4 Operator

• 

11.1K Posts

February 10th, 2012 05:00

You should look into merging C:\ and D:\ partitions.

There are couple of tutorials you can find by Googling.

7 Technologist

• 

16.3K Posts

February 10th, 2012 14:00