Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

September 20th, 2011 12:00

Need some help on installing Win XP on a Dell Inspiron N5010

Hello all. I'm new to this Dell forum so I hope that I write in the correct section. I bought a Dell Inspiron N5010 no OS was installed on the laptop and I didn't get a CD driver whit it just a DOS CD. Ok this was not a problem i had a Win 7 DVD and installed it got every driver. But now I wan to install Windows XP on it ( I don't really wan to say why XD ) But my Windows XP CD isn't working whit the laptop it's saying some error but when I installed it on my PC it works. Did some research and found a topic about how to install XP on Dell N5010 but it's outdated and not really understood and the 1st step wasn't really explained. So what I need:

1st Need a Win XP CD that works whit N5010, can be every Service Pack ( tell me if it's bootabel ISO or i have to make it bootable )

2nd that I need are Drivers : ( because I didn't found on the dell drivers ) ( I post what dell recommandes me )

- Audio Driver IDT 92HD79B1, v.6.10.0.6289, A03

- Chipset Intel HM57 Express Chipset Family, v.9.1.1.1025, A00

Realtek RTS5159 Card Reader, RTS5138 Card Reader, v.6.1.7600.30127, A01

Mouse & Keyboard Synaptics Synaptics TouchPad, v.15.0.0.1, A00

Network Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000, v.13.2.0.30, A00

Realtek RTL8103T Ethernet Controller, v.7.13.112.2010, A00

- Video Card AMD ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5650, ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470 / HD4200, ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 550v, v.8.742, A02