Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

November 21st, 2010 07:00

Trying to install new Microsoft Office Trial Version

Hello All,

I just recently purchased my very first personal computer and before I went ahead and started working with Microsoft's newest Office edition, I thought I'd do as much work and research on the older versions as possible. Unfortunately, I've never had to install anything before so I'm not sure where to start. Do I need to uninstall the older version that I've been practicing on before I install the trial Version? I am completely new to this whole computer thing and I don't want to make a mistake and mess up my computer!!

Could somebody please help me???

14.4K Posts

November 21st, 2010 11:00

iirc if you try installing office 2010 with 2007 already installed on the hdd then the installer should be aware of the older version and delete it.

I personally like to uninstall in control panel>program & features before installing newer software.

3.7K Posts

November 22nd, 2010 04:00

There is not a big lot of difference between the 2007 version of Office, and the 2010 version, so I would not bother.

159 Posts

November 22nd, 2010 12:00

However maybe There is not a big difference between 2007 version and 2010 version, but its better than 2007. Office 2010 has many more options.  So if you have both of them, install the 2010 version.
As i know Office is not upgradeable to the newer versions. So you should firstly uninstall previous version of Office and install new one.

4 Posts

November 28th, 2010 08:00

Hello,