Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 26th, 2014 19:00

how to install bios with usb flash drive........

hi all, 

kinda a newbie here, so here i go....does any body know or have experience updating bios via a usb flash drive or if even possible.  Because i can't  get my laptop to turn on after running ePSA it say that there is something wrong with my hard drive and the first thing i should try is updating my bios. but i can't even get in windows; the farthest i am able to go once i restart is right before the small windows logo once you boot up your computer or if there is another option that i have not thought about, would be greatly appreciated.....oh and my laptop is a Dell Inspiron 14R (N4110) with win 7 64-bit....

Thank you in advance for all your help.....

Regards,

Sam Lee, Jr.

7 Technologist

• 

7.1K Posts

July 26th, 2014 21:00

Hi Sam,

Good work on troubleshooting. It seems like you have received hard drive error when you ran the diagnostics. Please rerun the diagnostics and reply back with the error so that I can check and assist you further.

22 Posts

July 27th, 2014 10:00

Might be tricky for him: " i can't get my laptop to turn on ..."

10 Posts

July 27th, 2014 13:00

Hi Ravi,

how are you doing? Thanks for the encouragement. The error code is: 2000-0142, if there is anything else please let me know?!?

Regards,

Sam Lee

7 Technologist

• 

16K Posts

July 27th, 2014 17:00

Your hard drive has failed and needs to be replaced. Windows will need to be loaded on the replacement drive. If you are in warranty you can get a replacement sent out from Dell.

Otherwise you can replace it yourself using a Solid State Drive, see here:

http://dellwindowsreinstallationguide.com/hardware-upgrades-for-your-system/upgrading-to-a-solid-state-drive/

To Reinstall Windows on the new drive see here:

http://dellwindowsreinstallationguide.com/a-clean-install-of-windows/

10 Posts

July 29th, 2014 01:00

Hi Philip,