Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

L

July 8th, 2015 04:00

New to this and a ton of questions about fresh XPe install

New to this and a ton of questions about fresh XPe install.

Hello All:

So, I'm new to this. I flashed a V90LE with a fresh copy of XPe, build 625.

I think I did pretty well for a first attempt flashing a new image, but I need help to go any further.

MANY questions. The most important ones are how to turn off the write filter, and where is "my computer" or "system" in control panel.

1) On the USB firmware tool, I checked only upgrade the flash image. I did not check to upgrade the BIOS and the CMOS, I left those unchecked. Should I have checked them?

2) If I plug in a USB flash drive, a window opens with the contents of the USB flash drive. Other than that, "My Computer" is missing from all the usual places, and there is no "system" icon in the control panel. Is there a way to install missing XP components, or settings somewhere to make "my computer" show so I could see the C drive and how much space is left on it, and other similar drive information?

3) I see a green dot in the system tray for the write filter, but when I try to turn the write filter off it says I don't have permission, or I don't know the right password, something like that. How do I turn off the write filter?

4) How do I set up or configure Tight VNC so I can view the Wyse desktop remotely on my local network?

5) When the machine first boots, there is a bluetooth icon in the system tray, but when I point to it, it disappears?