Highlighted
Joe586
1 Nickel

XPS 8500, motherboard replacement help

My family owns a Dell XPS 8500, a few months ago it started acting up. It wouldn’t boot, and then it wouldn’t stay running for more than 5-7minutes. We took it to our local office supply store and they told us that we had fried the motherboard. So we searched online for a replacement motherboard. Dell doesn’t make New motherboards for this unit, so the best we could do was a refurbished unit. It took more than six weeks to get it from China. We installed it. No problem with the installation. When we tried to boot it up, we got that amber light/standby mode. So again we went online, here in fact, we tried the unplug the unit and press and hold the power for fifteen seconds. We tried taking the battery out of the motherboard itself. We even tried to install the wrong the hard drive cable that came with the new board. Nothing has worked yet. Please help, as a college student I need the computer 

0 Kudos
27 Replies
7 Plutonium

Re: XPS 8500 motherboard replacement help

It sounds like the refurbished motherboard may be bad.  That happens and getting it from China was a bad idea.

There are some listed on Amazon. I can't vouch for any of them other than I found them on Amazon doing a search. 

https://www.amazon.com/xps-8500-motherboard/s?page=1&rh=i%3Aaps%2Ck%3Axps%208500%20motherboard

I am not a Dell Employee

Dell forum member since 2002

Dell Inspiron 15 - 5577 Laptop

Home Built Desktop PC with ASUS ROG Z170, i7 6700K CPU

Windows 10 64 bit Pro and Windows 10 Insider Program Beta Versions. SSD drives. Cakewalk by BandLab and Studio One 4.1 Recordng Studio Software.

Dell S2719dgf Monitor

Member of Nashville based R.O.P.E.

0 Kudos
Joe586
1 Nickel

Is there any way to tell for sure that my “replacement” board is bad?

to be fair we bought it from Newegg

0 Kudos
7 Plutonium

There's several possibilities.  Exactly how is the Amber light working?  Solid Amber or Flashing.