Start a Conversation

Unsolved

J

12 Posts

February 5th, 2019 17:00

XPS 8500, motherboard replacement help

My family owns a Dell XPS 8500, a few months ago it started acting up. It wouldn’t boot, and then it wouldn’t stay running for more than 5-7minutes. We took it to our local office supply store and they told us that we had fried the motherboard. So we searched online for a replacement motherboard. Dell doesn’t make New motherboards for this unit, so the best we could do was a refurbished unit. It took more than six weeks to get it from China. We installed it. No problem with the installation. When we tried to boot it up, we got that amber light/standby mode. So again we went online, here in fact, we tried the unplug the unit and press and hold the power for fifteen seconds. We tried taking the battery out of the motherboard itself. We even tried to install the wrong the hard drive cable that came with the new board. Nothing has worked yet. Please help, as a college student I need the computer 

9 Legend

• 

33.3K Posts

February 6th, 2019 03:00

It sounds like the refurbished motherboard may be bad.  That happens and getting it from China was a bad idea.

There are some listed on Amazon. I can't vouch for any of them other than I found them on Amazon doing a search. 

https://www.amazon.com/xps-8500-motherboard/s?page=1&rh=i%3Aaps%2Ck%3Axps%208500%20motherboard

12 Posts

February 6th, 2019 07:00

Is there any way to tell for sure that my “replacement” board is bad?

to be fair we bought it from Newegg

9 Legend

• 

33.3K Posts

February 6th, 2019 10:00

It should have a beep code too.  If not, that points to motherboard.  Are you sure you have both the 24 pin and 4 pin power conneections?

Whether it was received defective, or installing the CPU or whatever caused it. 

10 Elder

• 

43.5K Posts

What color is the PSU indicator LED on rear of PC, right above the power socket, when PC fails with amber power button?