Start a Conversation

Unsolved

LS

38 Posts

May 24th, 2019 15:00

XPS 8700, clean install Windows 10, add Dell drivers or Windows Updates?

My XPS 8700 is 5 years old, and I've been using Windows 7 all this time.  Yeah, I know you'll say I should get a new one, which is probably correct.  Maybe I will when holiday sales come up at the end of the year.  I know those older processors can also have a security risk.  I did update to A13 BIOS a while back.

Anyway, I just did a clean install of Windows 10 from the Media Creator Tool, which seems to have gone flawlessly, but have not yet signed into the Internet.   This is my first time to set up Windows 10, so I've been looking around on it and adjusting preferences, security settings, etc.

Before going live on the Internet should I install the Dell Windows 10 drivers I listed below, or will Windows 10 choose everything as soon as I connect?

I found these Windows 10 drivers for my XPS 8700 on the Dell website, but they are not very recent, and I know Dell no longer supports this computer:

Intel 8 Series Chipset 10.1.1.7
Intel HECL  11.0.0.1153
Intel Rapid Storage Technology  (IRST)  14.5.0.1081
Cardreader removable storage  10.0.1025.31214
Realtek Audio driver  6.01.7525
Realtek network ethernet driver  10.1.505.2015

I also noticed that while they all say they are for "Win10, 64-bit", the only one that has "WN64" in the file name is the network driver.  The other 5 say "WN32" as part of the file name, so I assume those 5 are actually 32-bit drivers.

I have a current Win10-compatible video driver for my graphics card I can install.

Even if I install those Dell drivers, will Windows 10 still update them to its own choice automatically anyway out of the Windows repository once I plug into the Internet?

Thanks for any suggestions/opinions.

38 Posts

May 24th, 2019 16:00

I posted this earlier today, and it never showed up, so I'll try again.  Please forgive if it shows up twice.