Start a Conversation

Unsolved

M

8 Posts

October 2nd, 2019 12:00

XPS 8930, Hard Drive Rails

Hi,

I recently purchased an XPS 8930. It has 2 open bays for extra hard drives to be installed, which I had planned on doing. Previous Dells I've purchased came with hard drive rails (I believe that's the right term, referencing the plastic slide that the hard drive goes into, which then altogether slides nicely into the bay and snaps closed). However, this one surprisingly did not. It's just two open, steel bays. I assume it's not ok to just place a hard drive in there (I'm a novice when it comes to this stuff) and that it should be encased in these plastic rails. I contacted Dell customer support multiple times on this, but as most of you probably know, I could've better used my time jamming a pen in my eye. My goodness is Dell support an overall disaster. Needless to say, they were of no help. So I'm to the point where I don't care about having to purchase them even if they were supposed to be included, which I assume is the case. Where can I find the specific hard drive rails that would fit a hard drive bay in an XPS 8930?

Thanks in advance for your help.

34 Posts

October 2nd, 2019 13:00

...actually, the plastic drive caddy is not required, or needed to mount additional hard drives in the 8930.  The drive bays are secured with two fasteners each and when removed, a hard drive can be inserted and secured with additional fasteners on the sides of the drive bay (four total per bay).  3.5 inch drives fit easily, but smaller 2.5 inch drives, including a solid state drive, will require an adapter to fit properly.  Aapters can be found on Amazon, as can an assortment of fasterers for computers.