Mr King
1 Nickel

XPS 8930, change the boot order

Jump to solution

Using Acronis, I cloned my fast SSD to an internal HD so that when the SSD fails, I will still have a bootable, working machine. I have been doing this for years. But now that I've upgraded my machine to a new XPS 8930,  Windows Boot Manager puts the original SSD fourth in the list and the cloned drive is first. I can boot to the SSD by hitting F12 during the boot and then selecting the SSD, but of course that is both slower & annoying! How can I tell Boot Manager to place the SSD first?   [NOTE:  While I am not a total noob, the information at      https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-hardware/drivers/devtest/changing-the-default-boot-entry      was beyond me.]

THANK YOU!!!

Labels (2)
0 Kudos
16 Replies
7 Plutonium

Re: Cloned SSD to backup drive; default now boots to backup!

Jump to solution

I use "Easy BCD"  it will allow you to configure the Boot order on a multi-boot system.  Just watch for any unwanted software (uncheck) during install.  

https://easybcd.en.softonic.com/

I am not a Dell Employee

Dell forum member since 2002

Dell Inspiron 15 - 5577 Laptop

Home Built Desktop PC with ASUS ROG Z170, i7 6700K CPU

Windows 10 64 bit Pro and Windows 10 Insider Program Beta Versions. SSD drives. Cakewalk by BandLab and Studio One 4.1 Recordng Studio Software.

Dell S2719dgf Monitor

Member of Nashville based R.O.P.E.

0 Kudos
Vic384
3 Zinc

Jump to solution

Or you can try the change to Advanced system setting that was suggested here: https://www.dell.com/community/XPS-Desktops/XPS-8920-HDD-boot-priority/m-p/6097122#M12998

0 Kudos
Mr King
1 Nickel

Jump to solution

The solution you suggested probably works fine for a system booting two different OSs, but both my drives are identical, so Win 10 is the only option which shows up, so there's no selection possible.